Service / Awards

Fred Beell Service Award

The "Fred Beell Service Award" is presented annually to retired members of the department who have honorably served the City of Marshfield for more than 25 years

2017 = Sgt. Nick Poeschel (27 yrs, 11 mths)

2016 = Patrol Officer Jason Prickett (25 yrs, 6 mths)
            Detective James Cramm (26 yrs, 8 mths)
            Patrol Officer Jeff Cichantek (25 yrs, 9 mths)


2015 = Lead Officer Steven Leu (29 yrs, 3 mths)
            Chief Gary Jepsen (32 yrs)

Employee recognition for years of service to the Marshfield Police Department and its citizens click here.

honors - Copy

Fred Beell Honors Award

The "Fred Beell Honors Award" is awarded to officers for acts of bravery of the highest level which may subject the member to a high risk of serious injury. To be eligible for this award, the member must have exhibited sound judgment throughout the incident and demonstrated the true meaning of service to others over self.

2011 = Lead Officer Steven Leu (retired 2014)
            Lead Officer Michael Topness
            K9 Officer Terry Endries 

Valor Award

The "Valor Award" is issued to officers who exercised boldness and
determination while facing great danger

mitchewll - Copy

2018 = Patrol Officer Alex Mitchell

On October 23rd, 2017, Officer Alex Mitchell observed a vehicle that was reported stolen only a few minutes prior to him seeing it. Officer Mitchell attempted to initiate a traffic stop but the vehicle failed to comply and fled. A pursuit ensued and the driver of the vehicle pulled over in the parking lot of Dairy Queen and quickly exited the vehicle. The driver of the vehicle began walking towards Officer Mitchell instead of running away from him. This is a huge red flag for any officer and the fight or flight mentality starts to kick in normally at this point for us. After hearing via radio transmission the suspect may be armed with a knife and seeing the lack of regard the suspect showed for safety of the community and himself, Officer Mitchell used a variety of verbal and physical tactics in an effort control this dynamic and potentially dangerous situation. The suspect was extremely upset and out of control. There were several occasions during this incident when it appears more severe force options would have been justified to control this situation. After hearing the emotional response of the suspect, Officer Mitchell created time for back up officers to respond by changing his manner of communication.  He maintained his composure and safety during this extended period of non-compliance. Officer Mitchell displayed no emotion and presented a demeanor of complete control to the suspect. The suspect was eventually taken into custody and nobody was injured during this incident. While these actions are not completely uncommon or outside of the general expectations of our job, the manner with which Officer Mitchell handled himself in the situation was. Officer Mitchell’s clear head allowed him to demonstrate the values which result in his receiving of this prestigious award.

Tanner and Josh - Copy 

2017 = Patrol Officer Josh Larsen 
                Patrol Officer Tanner Gruber

On June 3rd, 2016 in the early morning hours under heavy fog Officer Josh Larsen and Officer Tanner Gruber responded to a 1 vehicle roll over crash at the intersection of Meadow Ave and Mann Ave in the town of McMillan just outside Marshfield city limits per a mutual aid request via the Marathon County Sheriff Dept. Officers Larsen and Gruber arrived on scene and found an SUV lying on its side, leaking fluids, still running and smoking with the driver still inside the mangled wreck with his head trapped under the vehicle's roof / door jam. Both officers realized the occupant was in a life threatening situation as the weight of the vehicle was slowly crushing his head. Prior to EMS and Fire Dept arrival, they acted quickly and carefully lifted the vehicle off the driver's head / neck using pure adrenaline and human strength; blocking the car up with the broken four by four post of the stop sign (which was damaged during the crash) to keep the weight off. Both officers then kept the man in place providing first aid until EMS and Rescue could arrive to finish extracting him from the wreckage. The quick thinking and fast actions of Officer Larsen and Officer Gruber saved his life which earned them both the Award of Valor.

Employee of the Year Award
The "Employee of the Year Award" is awarded for outstanding achievement by an employee that brings credit to the department, which involves performance above and beyond that which is required by an employee's basic assignment.

2018 = Patrol Officer Aaron Wargowsky

2017 = Det Derek Iverson 

2016 = Lt. Travis Sherden 

2015 = Lt. John Scheuer (Crossing Guard and Retired Officer)

2014 = Ordinance Officer Daniel Leonard (Retired 2018)

2006 = Sgt. Gerald Peterson (Retired 2007)

sherdan   wargow - Copy   dan

Honorable Mentions

This section is dedicated to members of our department and community that have been formally recognized by our department or another outside agency which does not fit the recognition categories above.

Wisconsin Professional Police Association "Meritorious Award" Recipients
2017 = Patrol Officer Josh Larsen
2017 = Patrol Officer Tanner Grubber

tanner josh
(From left: Ofc Tanner Gruber, Jared Fleischman, Hannah Stratman and Ofc Josh Larsen)

Marshfield Police Department "Certificate of Appreciation / Recognition" Recipients
2017 = Hannah Stratman
2017 = Jared Fleischman

-Jared and Hannah assisted Officer Larsen and Officer Gruber on scene of a traffic crash. Both subjects put themselves in a dangerous situation to assist a fellow citizen and the officers. Jared and Hannah displayed courage and bravery without hesitation. The Marshfield PD appreciates both for their efforts!

2011 = Adam Gould
2011 = Adeel Aslau