Common Council

The common council of the City of Marshfield (referred to in this Code as the "council") shall consist of the mayor and one alderperson from each of the ten aldermanic districts.

The council shall have all powers of the city not specifically given to some other body or officer, except as otherwise provided in the state statute, or in this Code. The council shall have the management and control of the city property, finances, highways, navigable waters and the public service, and shall have power to act for the government and good order of the city, for its commercial benefit, and for the health, safety, and welfare of the public, and may carry out its powers by license, regulations, suppression, borrowing of money, taxation, appropriation, fine, imprisonment, confiscation, and other necessary or convenient means. The powers hereby conferred shall be in addition to all other grants, and shall be limited only by express language.

The mayor shall have the veto power as to all acts of the council, except such as to which it is expressly or by necessary implication otherwise provided. All such acts shall be submitted to the mayor by the clerk and shall be in force upon approval, evidenced by his signature, or upon his failing to approve or disapprove within five days, which fact shall be certified thereon by the clerk. If the mayor disapproves he shall file his objections with the clerk, who shall present them to the council at its next meeting. A two-thirds vote of all the members of the council may then make the act effective notwithstanding the veto of the mayor.

To view council members, click here

For Agendas and Minutes, click the desired year on the navigation panel.